Lake Sebu – The Well Spring of the Grand Seven Falls

Enjoying the scenery of these stunning lotus flowers. Will they make you take the Owong (canoe) and row in Lake Sebu? January 2018

I visited Mindanao last January 19th, and all the way from Davao City, I paid a visit to Talicud Island, Maguindanao, Sultan Kudarat and South Cotabato. It was only a four-day trip, but having a close encounter with these humble provinces made me realize more that the Philippines is certainly rich in culture and it is something that we should all be proud of!

From the pristine beaches of Talicud Island to my close encounter with Islam in Maguindanao, I just knew that placid Lake Sebu will complement my stay with a bang!

Now let me share how I did all the fun as I walk you through my 2018 Mindanao adventure! Follow along!

Click here for the Maguindanao write up

Where is Lake Sebu?

Lake Sebu is located in South Cotabato, SOCCSKSARGEN Region, where the humble province borders with Sultan Kudarat in the North and West, Sarangani to the South and Davao del Sur to the Northeast.

The Map of Lake Sebu and South Cotabato. Credits to the owner of the map.

South Cotabato can be reached by taking a plane bound for General Santos City or a plane headed to the more popular Davao City. Either flight would require a land travel to Koronadal (popularly known as Marbel) where vans or buses take routes to the placid Lake Sebu.

The Map of Koronadal and South Cotabato. Credits to the owner of the map.

The Placid Lake Sebu

My excitement to see Lake Sebu was unexplainable that day. I knew that I was about to see something magical again and the lake was just perfect to wrap up my Mindanao adventure.

Bird’s eye view picture of Lake Sebu. Lotus flowers abound the placid lake. January 2018

After taking almost a two-hour ride via a passenger van from A2Z terminal in Koronadal, we finally reached the Municipality of Lake Sebu.

Prior to our day of visit, we coordinated with the President of Tourist Drivers and Local Guides of Lake Sebu, Jorie Sabal, for our tour arrangements. Jorie is a proud T’boli and a local of Lake Sebu. He is a very informative guide and has several side stories to tell about the lake.

Our first destination was the very lake itself. I told Jorie that I wanted to see the lotus flowers first and he said that it is best to visit early in the morning just before the sun boast in full blast in broad day light.

These beautiful lotus flowers only bloom before the sun flaunts its optimal bright light. January 2018

We did a slight trek on our way to the lake. We passed by a small community of happy people who never failed to share a smile as Jorie kept his enthusiasm on giving insights about the lake. He mentioned that the lake was called El S’bu back in the old days and because of several immigrants settling in the town, the name evolved to Sebu or Lake Sebu.

Upon reaching the lake, Jorie asked if it is alright for me to take an Owong. He described it as a canoe or a boat without outrigger. I was a little hesitant at first because I know that the lake is 115 feet deep and I was not wearing a lifevest. He told me to just keep still and watch my balance as we get closer to the flowers. In the end, I decided to go on to see the lotuses upclose! It is not like I always have the time to visit South Cotabato, so the tour just went on!

Owong is the T’boli term for a canoe. It is a boat made out of dugout trunk of a tree. January 2018
Keeping my balance in the Owong or getting soaking wet falling on the 115-feet deep lake. January 2018

The lotus flowers of Lake Sebu are really stunning. A single flower is beautiful enough so what more if you get surrounded by a bunch of them?! I really couldn’t get enough and my fear of falling just faded away.

For P100.00 and the picturesque scene, who wouldn’t take this close encounter with nature? When you visit the place, make sure to get closer with these pink beauties and capture a magical moment with the lake! 🙂

 January 2018
Lotus flowers abound this serene lake. I made sure to capture a moment with these beauties. January 2018

The Seven Falls

Lake Sebu is a total wonder! How can a lake supply the 7 falls without going significantly lower than its water level?

From the legend’s Boi Henwu forgetting to place the leaf cover in the source hole to the possibility of the rain cycle supplying the lake, my research was not able to answer my questioning mind!

For now, let us get to know the seven wonder falls of Lake Sebu!

1. Hikong Alo – T’boli: Passage Falls

This falls is the easiest to access. You can actually get closer and have it as a background for your Instagram post. Just be cautious with the mist as it might ruin your camera device. The falls is 35 feet high.

Getting closer to Hikong Alo. The greenish hue of the water suggests that it originated from the lake. January 2018
Hikong Alo is equally stunning from afar. January 2018

2. Hikong Bente – T’boli: Immeasurable Falls

Hikong Bente is the highest among the seven falls. At 70 feet high, they might want to rename it to measurable! Kidding aside, you can get closer to it by taking the concrete steps.

The falls’ rockwall formations, boulders and mist make it the most picturesque too. It was like a movie setting in the Amazons and I in search for the hidden paradise! The strong force of the falls and the mist gently tickling my face made my trip a worthwhile one!

The strong force of the lake produces this thick mist. A grand nature show off. January 2018

3. Hikong B’lebel – T’boli: Zigzag Falls

Most of the falls need to be hiked to witness them closely. But one exciting way to see this falls no. 3 is to take the zipline! For P250.00 on weekdays and P300.00 on weekends, this is already a treat for adventurers at heart!

The Zipline which is claimed as the highest in South East Asia was actually a total fun!!!! The view from above was absolutely breath taking! On the video below you will see the magnificent Hikong Bente and a short glimpse of Hikong B’lebel.

Unfortunately the other falls were not witnessed for safety reasons. Slippery trails are pretty dangerous for regular tourists like us!

4. Hikong Lowig – T’boli: Booth Falls

5. Hikong Ukol – T’boli: Wildflower Falls

6. Hikong K’fo-i – T’boli: Short Falls

7. Hikong Tonok – T’boli: Soil Falls

More about the Zipline adventures, the place also offers photopackages in case you want to take pictures of your seven falls encounter. You can even rent action cameras to record your reactions while in the heights! It is a must try if I may stress it!

One of the pictures taken as I try the highest Zipline in South East Asia. January 2018
I took a photopackage worth P350.00 for a two-way zipline picture taking which also includes CDs for the softcopies. January 2018

To inquire with Lake Sebu’s activities and recent offerings, you may contact our friend Jorie Sabal. He will gladly assist you for any travel related queries to his hometown. You may reach him through this number : 09058240725 or look for his Facebook account.

Jorie Sabal, myself and Datu Salazar after my Zipline encounter. January 2018

Visit Lake Sebu now and have fun! Happy traveling!

-jiyon

Leave a comment